Return to Headlines

May 2023 School Board Recognitions

May 17, 2023

At their May 15 regular meeting, the Joshua ISD Board of Trustees recognized many members of the JISD family.

The Board recognized the Lady Owls Varsity soccer team for their accomplishments this season. The Lady Owls secured their 15th consecutive playoff appearance. Team members recognized were: Maddy Bourzikas, Trinity Brown, Danna Clark, Caitlyn Combs, Gracie Davis, Emma Freeman, Avery Gortney, Kennedy Gortney, Maya Gutierrez, Cori Hunnel, Abigale Miller, Kynli Miller, Mariah Perez, Kaitlyn Rush, Kameron Tatum, Paola Sierra and Coach Jeff Brooks.

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Lady Owls Soccer

The board recognized two students that participated in the Special Olympics. Athan Spratley a 7th grader at Loflin Middle School competed in the Softball throw and ran the 50M, earning Gold in both events. Jaxon Spratley a 9th grader at Joshua Ninth Grade Campus competed in the Standing Long Jump earning Gold and ran the 100M earning Silver.

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Special Olympics Student-Athletes

The board recognized the NJROTC Officer Staff for the 2023-2024 school year. Each April, Joshua NJROTC selects a new cadet officer staff for the upcoming school year. Candidates for selection undergo a competitive process, which looks at academics, physical fitness, conduct and citizenship, community service and unit involvement. The unit’s new Commanding Officer is Cadet Courtney Womack. The unit’s new Executive Officer is Cadet Garrett Weber. The unit’s Command Master Chief is Cadet Ryland Aguzzi. The unit’s new Administrative Officer is Cadet Brooklyn Reames. 

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Joshua NJROTC

The board recognized the Joshua FFA members that qualified for State Career Development events.

Entomology - Coached by Jillian Clark
Abigail Bryant, Calley Liles, Camille Peters and Breck Walker

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Entomology

Wool - Coached by Jillian Clark
Kyndall Bethell, Rylan Bethell, Macey Boroson and Ellie Kindler

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Wool

Vet Medicine - Coached by Haley Hoeflein
Cassidy Clancy, Sydney Hauge, Morgan Hepler and Hunter McKenzie

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Vet Med

Horse - Coached by Brandon Neal
Michaela Baxter, Maggie Eggleston, Ashlyn Johnson and Bentlee Thurman

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Horse

Agronomy - Coached by Ryan Perkins
Mayla Dybvig, Gracie Moore, Gracie Nichols and Lexie Tucker

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Agronomy

Nursery Landscape - Coached by Emily Sims
Greyson Boedecker, Ashleigh Duke, Emer Jarrell and Caroline Moffitt

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Landscape Nursery

Forage - Coached by Ryan Perkins
Alycia Collins, Gracie Moore, McKenzie Mounger and Lexie Tucker

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Forage

Livestock - Coached by Greg Clark
Kelli Blackwood, Tatum Byrd, Keeli Clark and Decara Hempsath

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Livestock

The board recognized the JHS UIL Academics, Speech, Debate, One Act Play and Congress teams. This group won its 6th consecutive district championship in UIL Academics. JHS won the District 8-5A Academic meet with 508 points, besting 2nd place Midlothian Heritage by 253 points. Twenty-one of these students advanced to the UIL Regional Academic Meet at Texas Tech University. At Texas Tech, Rehder Myhre placed 6th in Current Issues and Events and the Current Issues and Events team placed 3rd overall. Jaxon Dial placed 1st in Computer Science with a perfect score on his written test. He will compete for State on May 17th at The University of Texas at Austin. The students recognized were:

One Act Play
Danielle Bernard, Kennedi Boren, Jewell Bullard, RJ Brown, Camron Campbell, Jaxon Dial, Hope Flowers, Jillian Guerrero, Bryce Henson, Redding Herr, Russell Hollins, Ava Justice, Luke Kunz, Ava Miller, Will Reed, Joseph Torres and Jacob Youngblood

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - One Act Play

Rehder Mhyre, Elsy Mosquedo, Diesel Keeling and Sierra Stilson

(CX) Policy Debate
Cole Anderson, Jaxon Dial, Ella Farrell, Diesel Keeling, Mofoluwake Olajide and Maverick Thomson

LD Debate
Brianna Blanco, Aiden Gresham and Kaleb Sinquefield

Informative Extemporaneous Speaking
Trinity Box, Jaxon Dial and Nathaniel Houston

Persuasive Extemporaneous Speaking
Cole Anderson, Rehder Mhyre and Shane Waits

Poetry Interpretation
Russell Hollins, Luke Kunz, Isabella Martinez and Kaylee Yuan

Prose Interpretation
Cassidy Clancy, Morgan Hepler, Jason James and Thandeka Kabo

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Speaking Teams

UIL Academic Roster
Sarah Alvarez, Cole Anderson, Addy Argumaniz, Luke Breedlove, Joseph Buhl, Clara Campbell, Gabriel Cole, Jaedon Cox, Logan Danton, Macey Dermady, Jaxon Dial, Aiden Gresham, Belen Hernandez, Arfan Hossain, Noah Johnson, Thandeka Kabo, Lincoln Kolhagen, Bree Latham, Logan LeBeau, Edith Leon, Roberto Martinez, Rehder Mhyre, Caleb Michaud, Caroline Moffitt, Sushanta Neupane, Mofoluwake Olajide, Nancy Palacios, Julia Pena, Alan Pizano, Reese Reynolds, Steven Rios, Khloe Rockwell, Brianna Schooler, Christine Smith, Nick Smith, Kaitlyn Tyk, Will Vass, Shane Waits, Reagan Walker, Rylee Watts, Courtney Womack and Jacob Wright

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Academic Teams

The board recognized the Lady Owls Varsity Softball team for their accomplishments this season. The softball team placed 3rd in the 8-5A District and were Bi-District Finalists. Team members recognized were: Catie Amador, Araolyn Beaver, Tori Bennett, Kallie Connelly, Landrie Durham, Baylee Jones, Kyndal Lay, Bentley Levell, Payton Long, Leah Mendoza, Tatum Moss, Taylor Profitt, Ashten Stanton, Shyanne Strawn, Zaidyn Streeter, Ren Vaught, Kylie White and Molly Young.

May 15, 2023 Board Recognition - Lady Owl Softball