Return to Headlines

JHS wins District UIL Academic Contest for sixth straight year

March 31, 2023

JHS wins District UIL Academic Contest for sixth straight year

Make it six district championships in a row for the Joshua High School UIL Academic Team!

The team scored 508 points, nearly doubling the total of the second-place team. The victory gives the Owls 12 district titles in the last 16 years. JHS was the runner-up in the four other years.

“Because of the work ethic of our teachers and students, I was extremely confident that we would once again bring home the hardware,” JHS Principal Celeste Neal said. “We have such a strong tradition of excellence, I would expect nothing less.”

While the JHS UIL Academic team was placed in a new competition district this year, the advisors and student kept their eyes on the prize. 

“We are fortunate to have students, teachers and administrators here who care about UIL,” JHS UIL Academic Coordinator Colin Yeilding said. “Our students begin working in the fall each year and continue through the spring.”

24 students will represent JHS at the regional meet on April 21 and 22 at Texas Tech University. Many of the students will compete in numerous events.

District individual and team results:


5th: Julie Pena
The team of Pena, Nancy Palacios, Kaitlyn Tyk and Mason Adams finished 2nd.

Calculator Applications:

3rd: Jaxon Dial
4th: Luke Breedlove
The team of Dial, Breedlove, Steven Rios and Alan Pizano finished 2nd.

Computer Applications:

2nd: Gabriel Cole
3rd: Rehder Myhre
4th: Will Vass

Computer Science:

1st: Jaxon Dial
2nd: Kaitlyn Tyk
3rd: Caleb Michaud
4th: Rehder Myhre
6th: Arfan Hossain
The team of Dial, Tyk, Michaud and Myhre finished 1st.

Copy Editing:

3rd: Reagan Walker

Current Issues and Events:

1st: Rehder Myhre
4th: Will Vass
The team of Myhre, Vass, Sarah Alvarez and Logan LeBeau finished 1st.

Editorial Writing:

3rd: Khloe Rockwell
6th: Reagan Walker

Feature Writing:

1st: Nick Smith
2nd: Reagan Walker
6th: Caroline Moffitt

Informative Speaking:

2nd: Jaxon Dial
3rd: Trinity Box
5th: Nathaniel Houston

Lincoln Douglas Debate:

6th: Aiden Gresham


1st: Jaxon Dial
The team of Dial, Luke Breedlove, Rylee Watts and Will Vass finished 2nd.

News Writing:

2nd: Nick Smith
3rd: Khloe Rockwell

Number Sense:

2nd: Jaxon Dial
3rd: Jaedon Cox
4th: Luke Breedlove
The team of Dial, Cox, Breedlove and Rylee Watts finished 1st.

Persuasive Speaking:

2nd: Cole Anderson
5th: Shane Waits


6th: Luke Kunz


5th: Morgan Hepler

Ready Writing:

3rd: Macey Dormady
4th: Brianna Schooler

Social Studies:

2nd: Aiden Gresham
4th: Cole Anderson
The team of Gresham, Anderson, Logan LeBeau and Macey Dormady finished 2nd.


1st: Reagan Walker
3rd: Cole Anderson
4th: Courtney Womack
The team of Walker, Anderson, Womack and Clara Campbell finished 1st.

Additionally, JHS won the overall team speech award and finished in second place in the overall journalism category.