• Special Education

    Mission

    Joshua ISD Special Education will provide support services to students with disabilities in a way that promotes safety and academic excellence.


    Joshua Independent School District provides special education services for approximately 500 students. All students served meet eligibility criteria as students with disabilities who require specially designed instruction in order to receive educational benefit from their instruction.

    Students with disabilities in Joshua range from ages 3 through 21 years and may be mildly disabled to significantly cognitively impaired. Services are provided to students who are visually impaired from birth through 21 years. The services the students require range from minimal weekly services to self-contained classroom settings. Joshua ISD offers a full continuum of special education services designed to meet the unique range of student needs.

    The Joshua Independent School District ensures that, to the maximum extent appropriate, children with disabilities are educated with children who are not disabled. The Admission, Review and Dismissal Committee is responsible for determining the least restrictive environment in which a student’s Individual Education Plan is to be implemented. Instructional arrangements/settings shall be based on the individual needs of the student and his/her IEP.


    Disabilities:  The Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) list and defines thirteen disabilities.  They are:  autism, deaf-blindness, auditory impairment, emotional disturbance, intellectual disability, multiple disabilities, orthopedic impairment, other health impairment, learning disability, speech impairment, traumatic brain injury, visual impairment, and non-categorical early childhood.

    Related Services:  Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Orientation & Mobility Services, Psychological Services, and Transportation                            

    Instructional Supports:  Regional Day School Program for the Deaf, Preschool Program for Children with Disabilities, Extended School Year, Services for the Visually Impaired, Services for Homebound Students, Speech Services

     

     

    Director of Special Education 

     Natalie Stuckey-Extension 1008

    stuckeyn@joshuaisd.org 

     

    Special Education Supervisor

    Keeli Bond- Extension 2008

    bondk@joshuaisd.org

    Districtwide

     

    Diagnosticians

      

    Emily Grundy - Extension 1909

    grundye@joshuaisd.org

    Staples Elementary, Elder Elementary, Early Education

      

    Elsa Fowler - Extension 1509  
    Caddo Grove Elementary, Elder Elementary Bilingual

     

    Sudona Lombard - Extension 1709

    lombards@joshuaisd.org

    North Joshua Elementary, Nichols Middle School 

     

    Deborah Seal-Extension 1809

    seald@joshuaisd.org

    Plum Creek Elementary, Ninth Grade Campus

     

    Jen Heskett - Extension 

    siglers@joshuaisd.org

    Loflin Middle School

     

    Kristen Taylor - Extension 1407

    taylorkl@joshuaisd.org

    Joshua High School 

     

    Licensed Specialist in School Psychology
     
    Lana Stacy- Extension 2133
      All campuses
     

     

    Speech Language Pathologists

     

    Mona Nelson- Extension 

    nelsonm@joshuaisd.org

    Ninth Grade Campus, Loflin Middle Schools

     

    Carrie Couch- Extension 1680

    couchc@joshuaisd.org 

    Early Education, Small Talk, ECSE

     

    Joanna Persson- Extension

    perssonj@joshuaisd.org

    Elder, Bilingual

     

    Marcy Easter- Extension 1713

    easterm@joshuaisd.org

    North Joshua Elementary, District Support

     

    Victoria Heath - Extension 1613

    heathv@joshuaisd.org

    Staples Elementary, Joshua High School 

     

    Paige Lillagore- Extension 1813

    lillagorep@joshuaisd.org

    Plum Creek Elementary, Nichols Middle School

     

    Kelley Elizalde - Extension 1513

    elizaldek@joshuaisd.org

    Caddo Grove Elementary

     
     
    Occupational Therapist
     
     
    Laura Wettig
    wettigl@joshuaisd.org
    All Campuses 
     
    Certified Occupational Therapist Assistant (COTA)
    Taylor Wallace
    wallacet@joshuaisd.org
     
     
    Transition Specialist
     
    Nicole DeTommaso- Extension 1155
    detommason@joshuaisd.org
      All campuses
     
    Vision Impairment Specialist and Early Child Contact
     
    Cinnamon Geddie - Extension 1745
      All campuses